Florida has enacted a law that gives boaters a discount on registration fees with proof of having or purchasing an EPIRB.
State Rep. MaryLynn Magar, R-Tequesta, and state Senator Joe Negron, R-Stuart, sponsored the legislation after two 14-year-old boys from Tequesta went missing outside Jupiter Inlet last July. Perry Cohen and Austin Stephanos were never found, despite intensive searches by the U.S. Coast Guard and local boaters.
“I hope these important safety measures we signed into law today will help ensure that this kind of tragedy never happens again,” Florida Governor Rick Scott stated in a news release.
When the law goes into effect: July 1
How much Florida boaters can save: For boats 40 to 65 feet length overall, the current $127 fee drops to $112. Smaller boats save about 75 cents to $9 on fees ranging from about $5 to $78.